2nd year anniversary. Plus a mini think piece on Lana Del Rey’s new album

WARNING:This contains talk of domestic abuse, please do not read if you do not want to read about it!

First off I’m sorry I haven’t been around, I just haven’t been feeling like I can write anything that I want to put out recently.

Ok second year of this blog being up.  Last year I recommended some music I was listening to, this year I want to do something a little different. I’m not sure if I will post this yet, but I’d like to think that I will.

So Lana Del Rey just released a new album, and I would like to say that I never really got Lana, I liked the idea, but in reality it never really did anything for me, I felt her songs were sometimes  unnecessarily sad and sometimes pretty dull, plus I didn’t think the production was interesting enough to take your focus away from its flaws. But then I heard “Brooklyn Baby” off her new album “Ultraviolence” and I really liked the concept and vibe of it so I checked out the rest of the album and…

I don’t know, I am unsure of what I think of this album, on the one hand it’s brilliantly produced and often extremely well written; on the other hand it is remarkably sad and deals a lot with abusive relationships and the feelings that the women in them go through. On the title track she says “He used to call me poison/ like I was poison ivy/ I could have died right there/ because he was right beside me.”

This is pretty complex stuff, as it details the duality that some people feel while in an abusive relationship, because she is terrified of this awful man but also enamoured with him. But this is also my issue with this album, now please don’t get me wrong I do not for a second think that she glorifies it. Like at all. It just seems a little too real to be “Just a story” and when I listen to this album it is often too much for me as I can’t help but feel that she may have gone through things like this in the past.

To me that is a sad thought, as no one should go through anything like this, but they do. In the thousands, women and men are terrified to go home as they are scared of what their partner will do to them, but not being able to leave as they fear for their own lives.

it is also why I think the album isn’t for me; because while it is well written and everything I can only listen to it and be reminded that this is people’s’ every day lives and I know there is nothing I can do to stop it and that saddens me. If this album creates a dialogue about the nature of abuse, great, but I don’t think it will.

Disclaimer: I am sorry that this is such a heavy post; however there is no way I can talk about this album and not talk about it’s themes, which upsettingly contain domestic abuse. If you are a victim I am sorry if I have offended you, it is not my intention I just felt this was something I had to get off my chest.

Thank you for sticking with this website.

Daniel McKeon

This entry was posted in Blog, Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

