Side Effects review

So my last review was a really family friendly album, this review is of a film marketed as an erotic thriller, why not?

side-effects-film

Side Effects

Run time: 106 minutes. Cert: 15

Remember in my 50/50 review, where I said I couldn’t talk about it too much through fear of spoiling it? This is worse, I can only talk about 40 minutes of the film, otherwise I will give away everything, let’s see what happens.

Steven Soderbergh is an interesting director, I like a lot of his films (Contagion, Solaris), but he has done some that I don’t like (Oceans Twelve and Thirteen), now he has done “Side Effects”, which is apparently his last film, which, while a shame, is a good film to go out on.

The film opens with a slow zoom on a block of flats, an homage to Psycho, it’s lovely shot and is a very effective opening for the film. We then cut to three months earlier where Emily Taylor (Rooney Mara) is visiting her husband Martin Taylor (Channing Tatum), who has been in prison for four years, for insider trading, however when he is released she finds it difficult to cope, and seeks help from Dr Jonathan Banks (Jude Law), who prescribes her a number of drugs which, don’t really work, so he tries her on a new drug called Ablixa and it seems to work.

Jude Law

This film has some very good performances, Jude Law is fantastic, as is Channing Tatum, my only real problem is Rooney Mara, I like her, I do, I think she is talented, it’s just… I suppose it’s the same problem I had with her in the remake of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (a film I will get to soon), I didn’t think it was the most believable performance, it had it’s moments, at the start she is very convincing and at the very end she is also convincing, but in the middle I didn’t particularly believe she could do what she was doing, it’s a good performance she’s very talented, I just wanted a little more polish on her I guess.

rooney-mara-channing-tatum

I really enjoyed this film, I genuinely had no idea where it was going, it’s a fascinating, tense thriller, and it did one thing which not many films do, it sucked me in, when I watch a film, I can usually review at the same time, but with this I was so engrossed I forgot I was going to review it, so for that I think it is definitely worth checking out, I really enjoyed it, it isn’t really an erotic thriller, it sought of comes in at the last fifteen minutes and even then, it’s never the focus.

One more thing, please don’t look up more about this film, just go see it, it really is worth time and money, it’s not my favourite Soderbergh film, but it is a genuinely very good film.

Rating 4/5 When you have seen this film please feel free to get in touch with me via twitter, please no spoilers in the comments.

Side Effects opens in the UK on Friday the 8th March.

This entry was posted in Current Film Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

