Taylor Swift: Red review

taylor-swift-redI don’t care how uncool it is, I like Taylor Swift, I really do, don’t get me wrong, I appreciate heavily electronic, out- there bands, like The XX or Alt J ∆, as much as the next guy, but frankly, I just don’t have the energy to be that much of a hipster, a lot of the time I just want to chill out, and listen to a girl verbally assassinate her ex’s.

That’s exactly what Red is, 14 tracks of listening to Taylor Swift lyrically destroy her ex boyfriends, and it’s great fun while she is doing it, I don’t count “State of Grace” and “Begin Again”, as they kind of feel like bookends, “State of Grace” sounds like a disclaimer, like Taylor Swift saying at the start of the album: “falling in love’s great, but it doesn’t always pan out, here are some examples of when it doesn’t” and “Begin Again” is a bittersweet end, a song that gives us some hope that she may find the right guy.

This is, as I said in my Top 10 best albums of 2012 her best, most grown up album yet, I’m so glad that she has started to grow up as an artist, I really don’t like her early stuff, it feels like songs you write as a stupid teenager, her last album showed a huge amount of progress and potential, this album really delivers, it has one bad track on it, one, but that one track nearly wrecks the whole tone the album was achieving, that track is “Stay Stay Stay” the problem is that it is really cheesy, it feels like it belongs on a completely different album, when I first heard it I thought “this isn’t where the album is going is it?” It isn’t thankfully, no it is instantly remedied by “The Last Time”, a duet with Gary Lightbody of Snow Patrol fame, and that fits much better with the tone of the album.

I really like this album, did it deserve a place on my best of list? Probably not, maybe it should have been my, unofficial number eleven, over Paloma Faith, but that’s a debate for another day, I think this album is really very good and you should definitely check it out.

Rating: 4/ 5 A legitimately good album, from a very talented artist who doesn’t deserve the hate she gets.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

