Les Miserables review

les_miserables_soundtrack

Les Miserables

Run time: 158 cert: 12A 

I would like to start by saying, I’ve never seen the stage show, so I went into this completely blind.

Les Miserables is the story of Jean Valjean (Hugh Jackman), a former convict who breaks his parole and reinvents himself, while trying to avoid Inspector Javert (Russell Crowe), on his journey he meets Fantine (Anne Hathaway), a factory worker who, after being fired has to turn to prostitution to pay for her child Cosette (Played by Isabelle Allen as a child and Amanda Seyfried as a woman).

I must admit I was skeptical when I went into this, a film where everyone sings live? It sounded like a gimmick to me, but it never feels like it, in fact it makes the film feel much more alive than most musicals.

Les-Mis-denby

It’s not all great though, Russell Crowe sounds like he has a cold it’s a bit distracting; it is also long, very long it may only be two and a half hours long, but it feels more like three and a half, I think that the reason for this is that, it’s very in your face, all of the time, it’s not subtle, at all.

But the positives do outweigh the bad, in fact I don’t think that there is a bad performance, (aside from Russell Crowe and even he wasn’t terrible) in here, Anne Hathaway should get the Oscar for her part, and I would say that in any normal year Hugh Jackman probably would get best actor as well, but sadly the competition is stiff this year and I can’t see him getting it.

I love the music also, almost all of the cast are fantastic singers, and I can see why the stage show has been going for as long as it has. This film is also genuinely moving, there were so many times when I nearly wept uncontrollably (I wasn’t sure if I was going to get through it after the amazingly harrowing first thirty minutes), it’s moving without you feeling like your heartstrings have been molested.

Rating 4/5 It’s a great tale of one mans search for redemption, I wouldn’t say it’s for children as some of the things touched upon are pretty heavy, I felt it was slightly too long but even so go and see it, it’s a genuinely thrilling piece of cinema.

This entry was posted in Current Film Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

