The Girl Who Played With Fire (2009) review

The Girl Who Played With Fire

Run time 124 minutes Cert 15

Warning this review may contain spoilers for The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, so I recommend you stop reading right here go and watch it then come back and read this after. You can also read my mini review here https://mcked001.wordpress.com/2012/07/17/next-reviews-and-a-small-review-of-the-girl-with-the-dragon-tattoo-2009/.

“The Girl Who Played With Fire” is the second film in the “Millennium” trilogy, about Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomkvist, and while it isn’t as good as The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, (I will now refer to them as “Millennium 1” and “Millennium 2”), it has a spectacular level of intensity, that kept me enthralled throughout it and when it ended I was amazed, it was one of the fastest two hours I’ve ever enjoyed. That is one of the many great things about these “Millennium” films is that they don’t seem very long at all, the first one at nearly 3 hours, went faster than some of the 90 minute films I have had the displeasure to review on here (I’m looking at you Catwoman).

The plot for this film is that Mikael Blomkvist, gets aproached by a young journalist with a meticulously researched thesis about sex trafficking in Sweden and high officials who abuse underage girls, however while this goes on Lisbeth is framed for a double murder she did not commit, as she tries to find out who framed her she must confront some of her darker past.

This film has some beautiful acting from Rapace and Nyqvist as Salander and Blomqvist, you really believe that they are in real danger when they are supposed to be, that’s I suppose why I love them as actors so much they are genuine and that goes a long way in my eyes.

I love this film it’s not quite as good as the first, but when  saw the first one I was speechless, the first time that has ever happened to me after watching a film, I would say it is damn near film perfection, right up there with my two favourite films Casablanca and Goodfellas.

But this is so good as a follow-up, it has some fantastic cinematography, however there is a chase sequence in it, that is so sharply edited that I didn’t really know what was going on and in some cases dialogue goes past so fast it feels like someone turned over two pages at once. But apart from that a great film and I really recommend seeing it if you loved the first one like me.

This film is dark and when I say dark I mean it, to me this film is more disturbing than the first. The sex scenes are more graphic and the violence is more in your face, but hey there’s less rape so that means it’s a 15 right? Surely that isn’t right, so if you didn’t let you child watch the first one because it was to graphic, please don’t let them watch this, it is a film for grown ups not children

Rating 4/5 Not quite as good as the first but still great nevertheless.

Oh just one more thing this film is very different from the first, instead of a sleazy murder mystery it’s more a standard conspirisy-ish thriller. See you soon I’m off to buy the Third film. Next review The Dark Knight Rises.

This entry was posted in DVD Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

