A Dangerous Method (2012) review

A Dangerous Method

Run time 99 minutes Cert 15

Well a couple of days ago, this film, came out on DVD and Blu ray in the UK, so I thought I would review it and tell you why you should buy it.

There is a shot in this film, in which Spielrein and Jung are lying in Jung’s boat; there is no dialogue, it could be cut from the film altogether but this scene, somehow encapsulates the entire film and made me adore the film even more than I already did.

A Dangerous Method, is the story of Sabina Spielrein (Keira Knightley), a woman suffering from hysteria, who is hospitalised under the care of Carl Jung (Michael Fassbender), who chooses her, to be the subject of his experimental new treatment, the talking cure, originally the Idea of Sigmund Freud (Viggo Mortensen).

This is   my favourite films of the year so far and is also probably my favourite Cronenberg film that I’ve seen, this is because unlikefor example, Videodrome and Cosmopolis, in which the last 20 minutes go completely against the rest of the film and in videodrome’s case flop into a gore- soaked mess, this doesn’t, it stays true to the rest of the film and apart from a couple of scenes is nearly perfect.

The acting on display here is fabulous, the only thing I would say, is that Keira Knightley’s acting takes a few minutes to get used to, (I think she is trying too hard personally), but after that she’s very good, every actor is very good but Michael Fassbender is the best as Jung, his performance manages to be understated and powerful at the same time.

I love this film, but why I love it hard to put into words, it’s such a complex film and to explain why I love it would ruin the whole plot and I’m really not going to do that. One thing I will say though is that the end is a bit abrupt, so if you hate that you’ll hate this.

Rating 4.5/ 5

I’m sorry it isn’t a very long review, but I won’t ruin this film for people who haven’t seen it.

Oh and I do like videodrome just not the last 20 minutes.

This entry was posted in DVD Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

